ARTIST TO KNOW: Little Dragon

Given my innate proclivity towards new sounds and hypnotic grooves, there are times that I will hear something that I’ve never heard before, and I’m forced to stop dead in my tracks. I’m not talking, “oh, this is a cool song, lemme buy this on iTunes.” I’m talking “who the hell is this band, and what planet is this sound from?”

My latest such experience was when my man Dex put me up on Little Dragon. I had inadvertently already fallen in love with lead singer Yukimi Nagano’s vocals on the work that she did for Koop’s “Waltz for Koop” LP.  Yukimi has this sexy, jazz-inspired delivery that will melt you as soon as the first notes hit your ears. Interestingly enough, the rest of the band is comprised of Nagano’s best friends from high school–Erik Bodin (drums), Fredrick Källgren (bass), and Håkan Wirenstrand (keyboards). This would explain why they have this cohesiveness of sound among the different elements that keeps the sonic ship sailing along so smoothly throughout the entirety of their self-titled debut LP. You may also recognize Eric Bodin’s name from the percussion work that he has done with fellow Swede Jose Gonzalez on his “In Our Nature” album.

I’ve played a couple of tracks off the LP on past episodes of the show (including my man Gifted & Blessed’s remix of “After the Rain” which is absolute FIRE), and I’ll probably keep playing album cuts until their second LP comes out or every Soundwaves listener has gone out and picked up this album. I’ve had numerous emails and call-ins during the show from people asking “who the HELL is this??” I can’t say I blame folks for their reaction. Little Dragon is ICE COLD!!

Trust me when I say this: YOU NEED THIS ALBUM IN YOUR LIFE.

You can catch more from Little Dragon, hear some tracks off the album, and stay up-to-date with their upcoming projects on their website here.

One thought on “ARTIST TO KNOW: Little Dragon

  1. I have fallen in love with ” Little Dragon” this band has a sound that is truly unique and simply resonates in the soul. From the lyrics to the production, they have a recipe for alluring music. [ I love the blog, it is nice to see artists, especially ones from LA like Count Bass D have a place to get on the air. Im glad to see KPFK keeping the programing diverse. I’ve grown up on KPFK so its cool to see. Please also check my blog out, I will honestly admit its a mainstream outlet but for monetary reasons, but I also use it as a means to showcase new artists and events as well. Please check it out. Peace
    Salim
    salim@eastofla.com
    eastofla.com

Leave a Reply

