The Musical Joys of Sesame Street

I definitely never realized when I was a youngin’, but a big part of why I loved Sesame Street and Jim Henson’s muppet world so much as a lad (and even still to this day) was that the creators of the show always displayed a great appreciation for music.

One of my personal favorites memories was the following sketch involving Simon Soundman at the Music Store.

The rest of the sketches are other instances of musical greatness that I still remember clearly from my days as a youngin’ watching Sesame Street and eating grilled cheese sandwiches in my pajamas.

(SIDEBAR: Speaking of Jim Henson, Spike Jonze is working on a live-action movie version of Where The Wild Things Are!! I’m officially geeked!!)

 

Simon Soundman at the Music Store

 

Don Music writes “Twinkle Twinkle”

 

Don Music writes “Mary Had a Bicycle”

(note how Don is rocking the standard-issue haircut and clothes of the 1970s music dynamo…a la Phil Spector, Burt Bacharach, David Axelrod, etc.)

 

..and the greatest musical display ever on Sesame Street…Mr. Steveland Morris jamming for OVER 6 MINUTES live on Sesame Street…

 

Leave a Reply

